The Story Chapter 29 Introduction

PaulOnRoadToDamascus_CP_0051

Paul wrote much of the New Testament, yet he was one who began his career persecuting the church. Paul was on his way to Damascus to round up those following Jesus when he had an experience with the living God; with the resurrected Jesus.

Have you had an experience with the living God? What did that look like? Did that cause you to shift your thought process or your life style in the opposite direction?

After Saul, now named Paul’s experience, he became the biggest champion for the church. In fact, he made three missionary journeys into the heartland of the Roman Empire in order to share the Good News with the Gentiles, with non-Jews.

What are we willing to do in order to share the Good News with others? Are we willing to do a complete life style change? Are we willing to talk about Jesus even if it makes us uncomfortable? Here is a list of things that Paul persevered through in order to tell others the Good News that Jesus is alive!

23 Are they servants of Christ? (I am out of my mind to talk like this.) I am more. I have worked much harder, been in prison more frequently, been flogged more severely, and been exposed to death again and again. 24 Five times I received from the Jews the forty lashes minus one. 25 Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was pelted with stones, three times I was shipwrecked, I spent a night and a day in the open sea, 26 I have been constantly on the move. I have been in danger from rivers, in danger from bandits, in danger from my fellow Jews, in danger from Gentiles; in danger in the city, in danger in the country, in danger at sea; and in danger from false believers. 27 I have labored and toiled and have often gone without sleep; I have known hunger and thirst and have often gone without food; I have been cold and naked. 28 Besides everything else, I face daily the pressure of my concern for all the churches. 29 Who is weak, and I do not feel weak? Who is led into sin, and I do not inwardly burn? 30 If I must boast, I will boast of the things that show my weakness. 31 The God and Father of the Lord Jesus, who is to be praised forever, knows that I am not lying.” 2 Corinthians 11

What are we willing to do to share Jesus?

About taylorsvilleumc

Making disciples of Jesus Christ in Taylorsville, MD. Come join us on our blog, on twitter or in worship. 9 am is "45 minutes of hope", grow hour for all ages at 10:50, and traditional worship at 11 am.

Posted on April 10, 2013, in #hopeintville, Bible study, Faith in God, Jesus followers, making disciples, The Story and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment